[Off-topic]gaguri’s idle thoughts

July 31, 2009

[HG-F] Nodame Cantabile 19 [8884402C].avi - 00001

Recently I uploaded a video of myself playing my remix of Beethoven’s three piano sonatas on youtube, which you can view here. The following post is more personal and has very little to do with anime, so feel free to stop here if you wish.

The thing is that I chose to disable any comments from appearing on my clip, which may seem strange from someone who loves all kinds of comments on his blog. I think that has to do with what the comments from the viewers mean for me. I’m probably being too paranoid about this but basically I didn’t want anonymous people to flame/troll/constructively criticise my performance. My opinion is that the accessibility to commenting inevitably renders the nature of whatever you are sharing, so by disabling the comments I wanted to treat the video not as a technical performance worth analysing, but merely as a showpiece of one of my hobbies to share. And then I asked myself, what do comments from my blog mean for me? What do I want to treat/view my blog as anyway?

hataraki man

Some of you may have noticed that I sometimes have a tendency to connect similarities between anime and other fields of art, whether they be architecture, modern paintings, or music. This is not to say I’m treating animation the same way I treat them because that would be foolish. What I really want my posts to be is more like an observation.

For example an observation of, hey sometimes the way anime approaches its audience is almost like how a building capture its visitors (hard or soft), where Sorrow-kun then gave a very insightful comment on what different ‘hardness’ of depicting characters can mean. And although I concluded the article by endorsing balance of hardness and softness, I think alternation of different densities of hardness in coburn’s comment is a better way of describing the way I feel about the way anime engages its audience. This is not to say there are objective element of hardness or softness that governs the principles of anime and architecture. Rather, it’s the hardness and softness I sense as an experience, which I can relate to something similar from other things. I think the association is interesting because imagining a visitor approaching and entering buildings, somewhat helps me to better imagine an viewer being more immersed into the world and characters presented in anime. I suppose I wanted the readers to feel the same way too. And as I’ve mentioned above, often the comments have been more enlightening and analytical than my own input, as is also evident in Martin’s more fitting analogy of manga to anime adaptation and ghostlightning’s passionate elaboration of Peter’s analogy of American vs Japanese animation (recent posts).

Needless to say I also enjoy writing posts talking about more obscure and refined titles, where I then delight in comments from readers who also share similar appreciation for them. That isn’t to say I don’t enjoy popular and light-hearted titles (i.e. Hayate no Gotoku!, in fact I have been following the second season with pleasure). I simply want my blog to be associated with more underlooked and heavier titles and I think that is what draws readers to this place as well (and there isn’t a whole lot to say about Hayate except Hinagiku is pretty cute to watch…). And the comments from readers of maturity and great taste are a joy to read, as it’s great to see people of varying sensibilities remembering love for the same anime. So ultimately comments are significant extensions of my posts.

Hmm this sounded more like one of those anniversary posts -__- . Next up on Ha Neul Seom, gaguri brings up Zhuangzi’s Daoist philosophy and Einstein’s theory of relativity in one of Oshii’s movies (haha I’m only 50% joking…).

15 Responses to “[Off-topic]gaguri’s idle thoughts”

  1. ghostlightning Says:

    I’m a troll.

    I only pretend to like many shows so that people will like me, making it easier to brainwash them into becoming Macross fans.

    No, I’m only 50% joking. I really like Macross more than the other anime I like, and I write about these shows with an underlying intent to make my favorite franchise accessible to more people.

    And I’m learning here at Ha Neul Seom, if I were to look at the design of the experience of my own website, I want it to have the architecture of museum — that of dynamic (as opposed to static) thought on anime and manga, with Macross as the main showcase: not because it’s the best anime that ever was, but because it’s what I love the most.

    I’ve been experimenting on episodic writing on currently airing shows. Some people have been generous to tell me that I’m doing this to test the limits of my ability, but this is only partly true. I’m really just training to be finally able to write about the episodes of Macross anime, with the intent to be inclusive and accessible, to welcome new viewers who if I’m lucky, would fall in love somehow with the anime franchise I’ve dedicated myself to.

    I apologize for writing a post-sized comment here, though if you’re anything like me it’s the kind of response I like because you’d know your post engaged me in a powerful way.

  2. animekritik Says:

    I’m kind of reminded of Iwanihana’s blog situation…it seems she’s done away with comments totally. i think definitely in an ideal world people would comment without being so anonymous, but the net being what it is..

    Your About page has comments turned off as well…where is that island again?

  3. Sorrow-kun Says:

    The “hard or soft” post itself was much more insightful than my comment. I was just taking your ideas and running with them (and taking the opportunity to vent about White Album, as was my want at the time.)

  4. gaguri Says:

    I guess the two things I want to say first is that, well done Animenano, you somehow managed to recognise my post as filler and therefore didn’t bother to index it. And naturally no one seems to be interested in my video to ho ho.

    @ghostlightning

    Ah, I like your analogy. I too want my blog to be more like a museum than a journal/magazine. Museum as a building has that sense of durability, lasting long, allowing people to revisit your posts rather than just seeing/tossing away after one read. And of course, museum has that feeling of exhibiting a gallery of items or collections. See this is why comments are extensions of my post, inseparable.

    And you know as well as I do that we all love post-sized comments πŸ˜€

    @animekritik

    Reading Wabisabi’s latest reply, I think her intent wasn’t to reduce the number of comments on her blog, although I’d say her solution went a bit overboard (but of course, this does not compare to what she did to her old blog…).

    And yes, I’ve turned off the comments on my About page because of the particular ambience and mystery I wanted to achieve by doing that (lol…). You can find that alter (μ‹œμ‚¬λ‹¨) as one of the tourist items in your visit to a famous Korean Buddhist temple called λ„μ‚°μ„œμ›. However it is not often one gets to see the alter in a weather like in the photograph.

    @Sorrow-kun

    hmm I guess more insightful and observant, but I’d still say the comments have been pretty analytical.

  5. Cello Says:

    I don’t have much to say on this. I read your entry and i think this was more of a ‘sit back and just listen to me entry’. Thanks for sharing, and I saw the video clips, very good stuff. Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

  6. Kitsune Says:

    That was an interesting piano performance πŸ™‚ I am not a musician, so can’t analyze it, but I recognized the pieces from the original compositions and enjoyed your interpretation πŸ™‚

    As for the comments, I see your point of disabling them on your video. On the other hand, I find some comments on a blog educational – I learned many new things from my visitors.

  7. kadian1364 Says:

    There are definitely different kinds of blogs, and while the fanboying sites are fine and all for gut reactions, news, and instant impressions, I sometimes just reach a point where I’ve had my fill of exclamatory outbursts and repetitious one-liners.

    I love visiting blogs like this one that explore more nuanced ideas and develop inter-textual analysis. It’s like a broad starting point that allows me to gestate my own viewpoints, and although your posts never explicitly ask questions, I feel invited to add my thoughts too, like giving back after I’ve taken from it.

    Reading comments here is equally worthwhile as reading the post itself, considering the kind of audience this blog attracts. A museum that gets better because of the contributions of its visitors is pretty neat.

  8. coburn Says:

    I kind of dig how the comment-section as discussion space here varies – sometimes we’re joining you in theory, other times in shared experiences. For me at least, this blog has been a mixture of discussion around things I’m familiar with and the odd introduction to new stuff. So, I suppose, some of the time your posts almost do function as showpieces (albeit for somebody else’s ‘tunes’), and they’re showpieces which deserve replies.

    The museum idea is pleasing. Although perhaps slightly at odds with the blogger method of periodic release, and maybe even at odds with wordpress setups?

  9. gaguri Says:

    @Cello

    Sharing is my joy and delight.

    @Kitsune

    Haha…from what you say, it does sound like you haven’t listened to much Beethoven if you considered mine as an ‘interpretation’ ^^

    The sad reality is that I know what parts I want to express better but I physically can’t, to ho ho. But it does its job getting applause from those who aren’t overly critical…

    @kadien1364

    Thanks, and I appreciate your recent presence in my blog as well πŸ™‚

    It’s great to see that you felt as if you were invited to join discussion, that’s more than I could have hoped for.

    @coburn

    Yea, the way wordpress articles are published is the reason why blogs are considered more like a journal than museum I guess…cheaper, look-once-throw-away, type of thingy :/

    Although I try to rectify that by not writing any ‘filler’ posts (i.e. I hate endless eight, that is all), the reality is that most people are just going to read them once and digest whatever they got out of them, and only very few posts that strike our chords are going to be somewhat remembered. Though I suppose that’s same for me as well. So it’s very nice to see, for example, someone coming back to comment on my Mouryou no Hako post as it is being released, and another person making a reference to my post that was made weeks ago.

  10. Martin Says:

    This is the kind of blog where you can read something, understand what’s being said, and come away feeling like you’ve learned something new. Well, I do anyway. I really appreciate your choice to focus on overlooked shows – amidst the titles everyone is familiar with there are some hidden gems which deserve the attention.

    Maybe it’s because I had a clear taste in film and music before becoming a fan, but I also place anime alongside everything else I’m interested in and judge it that way.

    I can’t comment on the piano piece I’m afraid because I neither play the piano (I’ve always wished I could…maybe I thought the guitar was cheaper!), nor do I know much Beethoven apart from the most famous works. All I can say is I’m impressed…and I can appreciate how hard it is to not only recreate the ‘feel’ of the piece itself, but add your own personal touch to it. Thanks for sharing!

  11. Kitsune Says:

    It sounds like I offended you – I apologize. “Interpretation” was a poor choice of words.

  12. usagijen Says:

    Needless to say I also enjoy writing posts talking about more obscure and refined titles, where I then delight in comments from readers who also share similar appreciation for them. […] And the comments from readers of maturity and great taste are a joy to read, as it’s great to see people of varying sensibilities remembering love for the same anime.

    yeah THIS. This explains exactly how I feel about the ‘Cross Game loving cult’ in the blog atm, no matter how few. Loving something underrated and obscure seems to bring with it a community that’s “closer” and more personal too, and meeting like-minded people who share your not-so-ordinary taste becomes even more of a JOY, like “OMG you love this too?!” JOY. Like finding a rare gem πŸ™‚

    A year after I started blogging I think I toyed with the idea of ditching anime seasons (and become an anihermit like you XD), but that was due to being sick of following/blogging a bunch of shows each season more than anything lol. The desire to reach out to a wider audience also made me reluctant to get on with the ‘ditch the animu season’ plan.

    But now that I’m starting to realize what it is that I really want to blog about or how I want to blog, I guess soon enough I shall rid myself of the notion of “anime seasons”, because animes are supposed to be timeless, and I also dream of writing more timeless posts, something worth showcasing even for the years to come πŸ™‚

  13. gaguri Says:

    @Martin

    Delighted to hear that you’ve liked the blog, and the play πŸ˜€

    @Kitsune

    Haha…like I mentioned in your blog, no offense was taken. If anything, I’m flattered to have someone consider my play as worthy of being interpretation. It was a poor choice of word indeed, but in a good way! I hope I didn’t come across as being sarcastic in my previous reply.

    @usagijen

    You know I feel the same way πŸ™‚


  14. […] Geocities closed down, together with a good number of anime sites that shaped me as a fan. *Looks at all the Geocities sites in Anipike and sighs* With the exception of Hate Sites or Clubs, these sites were the epitome of remembering love for animes and mangas. Even until now I’d look back at those times and wonder just how I can make a shrine out of this blog. Or a museum, as ghostlightning once said. […]

  15. escotoHoant Says:

    Guy .. Excellent .. Wonderful .. I’ll bookmark your blog and take the feeds alsoI’m satisfied to seek out numerous helpful information here in the submit, we need develop more strategies on this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .


Leave a Reply

