Pointless Ramblings and Brief Spring Preview

March 17, 2009

thompson_bc1e30dd94ffa5239c210464149cd9ff052b2fd81

Normally one does not see beautiful sunset and contemplate on current state of anime, but I can’t say I have been happy with what little I’ve dropped watched lately. As my taste is not as refined as the most esoteric bloggers I can think of, I do often indulge in mainstream titles and have greatly enjoyed series like Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei, Higurashi, Hayate no Gotoku and The Melancholy of Suzumiya Haruhi, which all have their fair share of fanservice. I however can’t say the same for their unfortunate offsprings. Higurashi Rei was pointless and painful, Hayate episode 00 destroyed any nostalgic desire I had in following the sequel, and Shinbo‘s atrocious lesbian failure of Maria Holic has been so comprehensively documented elsewhere. And ugh, those youtube clips posted by Kadokawa…

beethoven

I’m not saying they are crap (although arguably they are) and people shouldn’t enjoy them. As a general rule I simply appreciate fanservice more when used as a minor distraction and not a driving force. Anyway enough with crap titles, there seems to be quite a selection from spring season worth looking forward to. Here are several that I’ll be ‘keeping an eye on’, whatever that means.

Fullmetal Alchemist: Loved the anime but apparently the manga is better, and this seems to be following manga’s storyline.

Souten Kouro: This could be my last chance to see a decent anime adaptation of Romance of Three Kingdoms. Apparently it’s going to be based more on Record of Three Kingdoms (historical facts) and not Romance of Three Kingdoms novel, and making Cao Cao the hero while panning out Liu Bei in a not so positive light. We’ll see how this turns out. At least it’s guaranteed to exceed its previous anime titles inspired by RoTK *shudders*

Ristorante Paradiso: Looks kind of gay, but seems like a bunch of Gankutsuou staff are working on this so the potential is there.

Cross Game: A wise connoisseur of anime and manga recommended this, simply because it’s one of Mitsuru Adachi’s top 3 stories.

Shangri-La: Murata Rang’s design is the selling point. My biggest worry is that Gonzo’s Gin’iro no Kami no Agito has set a spectacularly good precedent of how not to do a flashy environmental anime. Terrible characters, and potentially epic story gone down the drain. There were exactly two amazing scenes in the movie, one at the beginning, and the other at the climax, which makes me question what happened in-between but the only answer I could come up with was “that’s Gonzo for ya”. Hopefully that won’t happen. Anyway, I’ll conclude this rambling with the opening clip from Gin’iro no Kami no Agito, which basically shows how men’s experiemnts on the moon to control the nature backfired.

12 Responses to “Pointless Ramblings and Brief Spring Preview”

  1. Kitsune Says:

    Oh, I just posted my spring preview as well πŸ™‚

    I like the first picture of the sunset πŸ™‚

    Yes, I am also curious about Souten Kouro. Don’t set your expectation too high though πŸ˜›

    I wonder how well 3-D expertise of Yasufumi Soejima will be utilized in Ristorante Paradiso. The background art looks nice based on what is available so far.

    Hiroshi Ohnogi did some good work before, so Shangri La might turn out not too bad. Also it is based on a novel by Eiichi Ikegami, but the ratings on his book on Amazon seem to have a bimodal distribution…

    I love that song in of the opening πŸ™‚ Here is an AMV with it, highlighting wonderful art of Mushishi πŸ™‚

  2. usagijen Says:

    *cough* watch Skip Beat to brighten your day! *cough*

    Looking forward to Ristorante Paradiso, because it’s *ahem* relevant to my interests, and hearing that the Gankutsuou staff are behind it makes me even more excited.

    As a self-proclaimed fan of Mitsuru Adachi (despite being fail and not really finishing watching/reading his works), I feel compelled to check out Cross Game, but I’m thinking it might be better of watched in a marathon and not week by week, hmm.

    I’m surprised Eden of the East is not on your list! The Chika Umino character designs was enough to get me hooked πŸ˜„

  3. animekritik Says:

    @gaguri

    Ha! How old are you? I figure we’ll be seeing one anime based on 3 kingdoms every 7-8 years so i should think you’ll have plenty of chances left..unless you’re 75..

    i, like you, ended up dropping pretty much everything this season. next could be terrible too. of course i’ll watch shangri-la(for murata) and haruhi if it ever comes. and at least there’s always catching up on old shows!!

  4. muhootsaver Says:

    I agree… I haven’t been too happy with recent releases. It seems like April could be a blast though. FMA, Ristorante Paradiso, Cross Game(Adachi Mitsuru!!), and Shangri-La are my top choices but I’m very worried for all cases at the same time;;; For Souten Kouro, there was a bad video quality CAM PV. I posted the link on my blog. To be honest though, I was disappointed, as character designs really threw me off. I’m not a big fan of Romance of Three Kingdoms either, so go figure… ^^;;

  5. Martin Says:

    I’m looking forward to the FMA series actually…from what I’ve heard so far it’s a reboot of sorts that will hopefully mean it won’t matter that I’ve not seen the first one.

    There’s Valkyria Chronicles of course, which I’m really quite hopeful for. Yes, it’s a game adaptation and there was the Alicia Breast Enlargement debacle but still…that game has single handedly put a ps3 on my wishlist. It has a lot of potential, if nothing else.

  6. ghostlightning Says:

    I will give a lot of titles a cursory 1-3 episode glance though all of the shows you mentioned aren’t relevant to my interests.

    The two shows that are, scare me with their potential awfulness:

    Z Mazinger (re-make/telling of the pioneer super robot show which is notable for being a pioneer, not for being good. Also, the excellent director supposed to man the project purportedly left it)

    Basquatch (basketball mecha anime; yes you read that right; created by the Kawamori Shoji – the creator and principal mechanical designer of Macross)

    I just, don’t know…

  7. Sorrow-kun Says:

    As deep dog says, you need to watch the good anime… like FOOLY COOLY!

    I thought there were a few good anime this season, like Marimite 4, Ride Back, Kemono no Souja Erin and (if anyone would sub it regularly) Birdy Decode 02.

    As far as next season is concerned, I’ll make up my mind closer to the date. You’ve pretty much convinced me to check out Ristorante Paradiso, and FMA was always on my list. As usual, I’ll use hype and buzz and snap decisions to work out the make-up of the rest of my list.

  8. gaguri Says:

    @Kitsune
    Hmm that doesn’t bode well for Shangri-La, source material is kind of important. And ha, that amv xD. No denying that it isn’t fitting, but I still like the original OP better.

    @usagijen
    Hmm for some reason Eden of the East didn’t come to my mind, I guess it’s worth observing its progress. There actually is a popular Korean melodrama titled ‘East of Eden’, so possibly they’re from the same source (which does’nt bode well for me but o well).

    @animekritik
    Ha I’m not that old but considering the things they’ve been churning out based on RoTK (*cough*koihime*cough*ikkitousen*cough*ryufoku), it might as well be anyone’s last! chance!
    Speaking of old shows, I’m actually catching up on a classic series, which I won’t reveal (o the plot thickens).

    @muhootsaver
    I couldn’t find the PV but from the screenshots, it doesn’t look too bad…although unlike you I’m a BIG fan of RoTK so I’ll see how it turns out!

    @Martin
    Yep, let’s hope they don’t screw up with the manga :D. As for Valkyrie Chronicles, not really under my radar for now.

    @ghostlightning
    Ha, I used to watch 1-3 episodes for the heck of it too, although this season I’m aiming to refrain from doing that. I actually enjoyed trailer of Basquatch, it had a nice style to it, with hip hop, basketball, ‘the hood’ and all πŸ˜€

    @Sorrow-k
    Maybe aside from Ride Back they are good selection. My picks have been all offsprings from shows I’ve watched before (i.e. Higurashi Rei, Hayate 00) so I ‘dutifully’ watched them and was left disappointed. O well…

  9. usagijen Says:

    I doubt Eden of the East has anything to do with that kdrama, since it’s supposed to be an original series (whatever similarities will be purely coincidental XD)

    The director of Ghost in the Shell is behind it, so that’d be more reason to keep a lookout on it, though I honestly don’t pay much attention to directors and whatnot, I guess it’s both a curse and a blessing?

  10. gaguri Says:

    I just saw trailer of Eden of the East from Kitsune’s blog.

    OMG THE GIRL LOOKS SO CUTE! ❀

    Honestly if I have to bet one anime that’s going to win this season, it’d be Eden of the East. Let’s see how my prediction turns out.

  11. omisyth Says:

    Shangri-la’s promo art just looks so great, hopefully Gonzo pull another Druaga rather than Dragonaut.

    Also, Maria Holic is awesome and Suzumiya-chan is hilarious.

  12. gaguri Says:

    I was also awed by Shangri-La’s beautiful home page. I’m not sure if I really want another Druaga though…maybe another Last Exile.


Leave a Reply

